Mobile telephones have brought many benefits but they have also negative effects. Do the disadvantages of having mobile phones outweigh the advantages? Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

It goes without saying that the presence of mobile telephones has greatly impacted our modern life on

both positive and negative sides. While I accept that they contain some inevitable drawbacks, I believe

this technological products have delivered many more incontrovertible benefits.

On the one hand, this leaders of technology breakthroughs assist individual user with their multiple

functions such as health monitor, self-entertainment, location identifier, and particularly emergency

help. In fact, parents, whose children are equipped a smart phone, feel certain more secure than other

one because they can reach their kids wherever they are at any time. From a social perspective, this

all-in- one device satisfies global communication needs. It is pretty obvious that using mobile phone is

one of the most effective ways to narrow the distance between people from all over the world. For

example, the connection to Internet from our cell phone signifies the access of social network such as

Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram… where we could immediately update the latest news from friends

and family.

On the other hand, I would argue that the disadvantages are outweighed by the advantages. The

adoption of this high-tech product truly spreads the generation gap which is the repercussion of a

constant mobile phone dependence. For instance, young people are likely games-addicted that leads

to an absence of interaction between family members. The multifunctional device is considerably a

portable friend whom children could spend hours each day instead of having conversation with their

parents. The overuse of mobile phone not only provoke lack of communication but also link to an

inactive lifestyle.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the potential dangers of using mobile telephones are less significant

than the possible benefits.