Modern forms of communication such as email and messaging have reduced the amount of time people spend seeing their friends. This has a negative effect on their social lives.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, with the inventions of many different tools for communicating, it is said that people are spending less and less time hanging out with friends. Though I agree with this statement, I think it is no certain that this completely does harm to their social lives.

First of all, it is undeniable that most of people are depending on several platforms such as email, messenger, snapchat for their contact. Hence, they have a tendency to stay at home and send instant messages to their friends rather than going out for a meeting. This may lead to a lack of face-to-face interaction among people as well as making them afraid to communicate directly with others.

Nevertheless, there are more benefits of these inventions. Under some circumstances, people can be easily connected with their friends, especially those who are living in remote areas. In addition, it enables people to chat with others from all around the world, which also supports them in broadening their social circle. Last but not least, during the Covid-19 pandemic, communicating via email or other messaging applications is considered as the best way for everyone to keep in touch without a fear of getting infected.

In a nutshell, although there are several bad points in these means of contact, it seems that such downsides are outweighed by their merits. In other words, they definitely play a crucial role in our daily life.