In modern life, it is possible to shop, work, communicate via the internet without any face-to-face contact with others. Is it a positive or negative development?

These days, the birth of the Internet provides a large number of the online platform in shopping, working and communicating without face-to-face contact with others. In my opinion, this has both positive and negative sides.

It is clear that the invention of the Internet is a key contributing factor to facilitate our life. First, people working far away from their houses can send emails, messages to their families regardless of geographical barriers through the messaging applications by one click on the computer instead of letters that results in bringing people closer together. Not to mention that the Internet may also benefit in the working environment, emails are also applied to send a wide range of documents quickly that serves the working process more easily. Besides, the growing popularity of e-commerce websites may bring certain advantages helping to buy anything at any time just by some clicks, then it will be delivered to your place immediately.

However, the increasing number of people using the internet causes a climb of social issues. Obviously, using a social networking platform in communicating, like sending messages instead of face-to-face contact with others, may weaken your social and interpersonal skills, which results in depriving yourself of opportunities to make real-life friends. Moreover, another countless unfavorable impact is mining physical and mental developments. In fact, the overindulgence in the virtual world would undoubtedly trigger a sedentary lifestyle, which is responsible for a number of health problems such as impaired vision, obesity or the inability to process and express emotions. Finally, online shopping is sometimes considered not to be ideal for purchasing something due to the fact that you cannot control the real quality of items.

In conclusion, both positive implications on certain aspects of life and negative impacts on lifestyle and health can be seen considering the uncontrolled Internet use for shopping, working and communication purposes.