Modern technology,such as personal computers and the internet, have made it possible for many people to do their work from home atleast part of the time instead of going to an office everyday. What are some advantages and disadvantages of this situation?

In the last few decades, advanced technologies such as the Internet and computers have blurred the boundaries between workplace and residence by enabling employees to competently perform work-related activities without going to the office. This working method certainly has possible benefits as well as drawbacks which are subject to thorough scrutiny.

A distinct advantage of working at home is to efficiently capitalize on time and effort required to prepare and travel to work on a daily basis. On average, people spend about one hour to get ready and commute which is a significant amount of time to be spared in this fast-paced world. Further, it could prevent workers from rush hour stress that potentially affects the quality of work.

Secondly, it is evident that many overcrowded and polluted cities are struggling to cope with their traffic congestion and air pollution. Therefore, allowing employees to work distantly could give a huge advantage in reducing peak hour traffic problems and carbon dioxide emissions into the atmosphere.

Nevertheless, working at home poses some challenges which cannot be overlooked. One potential drawback is that employers have difficulties monitoring and assessing workers’ performances as some people tend to procrastinate and act passively without supervision.

Another disadvantage for young working class is that they are unable to genuinely experience real workplace environment which is crucial to pursue career and develop personality. In rare cases, employees could be left in isolation due to lack of interaction with cohorts assuming that the office is their only means of communication. As a result, it could cause them to suffer depression.

In conclusion, each organization must carefully consider the advantages and disadvantages of working at home whilst governments may also side with employers to improve overall living conditions of their citizens.