In modern times, the issue of school fee has become a matter of discussion. Many commentators are of the view that authorities ought to offer free education for students on all levels. Whereas others fell that university students have to bear the costs of education. This essay will examine both sides of the argument and provide an overall opinion.

From an overall perspective, the second view seems to be reasonable simply because it would put more financial pressure on the working age population. In evidence, the state budget education would be bigger to cover more costs of the education system. Thus the government can find financial inputs from taxpayers in order to compensate for greater funding demand.

In spite of the arguments above, I support the first opinion for the following reasons. The first argument is that free education on all levels could improve the educational background for the whole society which is the basic foundation in order to improve living conditions for citizens in the long term. Take an example, in many developed countries, where students are able to attend universities with higher education regardless of whether they are rich or poor. Consequence, more and more people could receive tertiary education, and this would help them to not only look for stable employment but also enhance the living standard. Equally important is that this view could reduce the financial burden of parents and students. For illustrate, poor children would not have to do part-time job to pay for their study. Therefore, they would have a greater budget to spend on other purposes such as health care and traveling. It would lead to them bringing happiness to their life.

In conclusion, although I recognize possible arguments of the second idea, it seems to me that there are more persuasive reasons to agree with the opposite first view.