In the modern world it is no longer necessary to use animals for food,clothing or medicine. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include examples from your own experience.

Recently, whether people should still use food, clothes or medicine originating from animals remains a controversial topic. From my perspective, thanks to the technological advancements in agriculture, medicine and clothing, we are completely able to adap our essential demands without killing animals.

To begin with, people have eaten meat as a main source of protein and many important nutrients. Meat also became an integral part of many cuisines around the world. However, we are able to live on a plain-based diet which provide sufficient nutrients with only food grains and vegetables. Futhermore, many surveys have proven that being a vegetarain will reduce the risk of conmmiting to many dieseas such as cancer and heart attacks.

Moreover, humans used animals to make medicines or samples for experimenting medicines. For instance, poison of snakes has been used to make sedatives that reduce pain and there are many experiments using animals sush as rabbits, dogs, mokeys for samples. However, in fact, the synthetic chemicals are more effective in reducing pain and sacrificing an animal’s life for a experiment seems to be extremely brutal.

As for clothing, there is no need to use animals in this way. In the past, people reared sheep and hunted bears for wool, which would effectively keep their warm. However, nowaday, comparing to leather, farbic and these other artificial materials which are more adapable and cheaper, wool is no longer a reasonable choice.

In conclusion, for the reasons mentioned above, I believe that sacrificing animals for food, clothing and medicine is absolutely unnecessary and we also need to respect animals’ right to live freely.