More and more people want to own famous brands of cars, clothes and other items. What are the reasons for this? is this a positive or negative development?

In this modern world, the phenomenon of obtaining a number of items like cars or clothes manufactured by well-known enterprises remains a source of controversy. There are several reasons for this and I am convinced that this is a negative trend.

Becoming an owner of luxury products is deemed to be the culprit of the willingness to showing off one’s property. To be specific, some riches are ambitious to create a shining image of their personal life by wasting a huge of money on those up-to-date garments or the limited edition of cars or jewelry, for example, which presumably caters for the purposes of retrieving recognition and compliment from others. Additionally, teenagers at adolescent age are prone to imitate their famous celebrities whose appearance is normally accompanied with renowned brands of clothes, thereby the likelihood of purchasing for items to become a substitute of younger adults’ idols increases accordingly.

Personally, I reckon that this phenomenon potentially exerts adverse effects. Pursuing this extravagant trend of wasting money is an act grappling against cost-effectiveness. As a result, some owners inevitably have to shoulder the burden of finance in order to fulfill the need of possessing up-to-date models as well as meet their fundamental demands like eating or accommodating in this competitive world. Moreover, the phenomenon is likely to render the gap between the wealthy and the poor more significant. While a huge amount of money is wasted in exchange for recognition, people with meager incomes have to risk their lives to earn a living. Those expenditures can be efficiently allocated in other aspects of life like education or medical services in order to spur the standard of life.

In short, the proliferation of owning famous brands of products is attributable to the owners’ desire while I am of the opinion that it is not a wise choice to neglect the shortcomings of this trend