More and more prisons are being built to house the world s criminals and many people believe long term imprisonment is the answer to solving the crime problem However others feel that psychological assistance is what is required Discuss both views and giv

The new trend over the past few decades is toward re-education and rehabilitation of criminals using community service systems instead of the longtime jail sentence. In my point of view, this trend should not be taken in all kinds of criminal acts.

When discussing this trend, what should be taken seriously in mind is the type of criminal action. There are a few types of criminal acts such as petty crimes, soft crimes, and hard crimes. Petty crimes are simple non-harmful crimes like pickpocketing or small theft. The examples of soft crime are vandalism, burglary, robbery and so on and so forth. Some examples of hard crimes are; abduction, murder, arson, etc. Some might argue that with the matter of hard crimes, judges must take extreme measures. Considering the type of criminal act, judges should decide what type of sentence should be given to the guilty of the crime.

Moreover, there are some factors that should be taken into consideration while giving someone a suitable sentence, such as whether they are dangerous or not. Some believe that no matter what the crime is lengthy jail terms is not the answer. Although, others may argue that the ones who committed a hard crime, have to be imprisoned since they are a danger to the society. Meanwhile, they agree on re-educating and rehabilitating the criminals guilty of petty or soft crimes.

The safe conclusion to be drawn is that public service programs are a useful aid to help criminals fit into the society again and some truly believe that this could be a second chance given to the guilty of a crime. Although the jail sentence is sometimes necessary and should not be put aside, some educational programs can be provided in jail for the ones who are considered dangerous for the time being.