More and more students are choosing to study at colleges and universities in a foreign country.

Do the benefits outweigh the drawbacks?

It is true that nowadays students are increasingly likely to go to a foreign country for the purpose of studying. In this essay, I will point out that there are more advantages than disadvantages of studying abroad.

On the one hand, an increasing number of students choose to study abroad because of greater opportunities in a particular foreign country. Foreign institutions may offer much better courses and facilities. They can also be prestigious than universities in a student’s own country, on top of employing lecturers who are experts in the fields. Therefore, students can expand their knowledge and gain qualifications to open the door to better future jobs. Moreover, living abroad can help students to broaden their horizons. For example, they have to live and work with other students of various nationalities as well as being exposed to different cultures and customs.

On the other hand, a period of studying abroad can bring some disadvantages. Firstly, living away from home in an unfamiliar culture can cause homesick and culture shock. Students, for instance, have difficulties in talking face-to-face with their parents and relatives, who always encourage them in their lives. Secondly, students find living in a new country challenging because the language barrier can be a problem. If they are bad at foreign language, it is highly possible that they will have problems to find accommodation and pay bills.

In conclusion, while choosing to study in a foreign country bring some benefits as well as drawbacks, I firmly believe that studying abroad is a promising choice in the light of better opportunities.