More and more tasks at home and at work are being done by robots. Do you think this is a postitve or negative development? Discuss both and give your own opinion. Use explainations and examples from your own experiences.

Robot security guards can now be seen working in banks and parking lots. Nowadays, more and more machines can be observed taking over tasks both at home and in the workplace, and this is changing societies around the world. Robots free time and energy for humans that allow people to spend that energy and time in either positive or negative ways. Overall, I do believe that machine assistance is a beneficial progress both at work and in the home.

There are certainly some deficits for people when robots take over their responsibilities at the office or at home, namely, the loss of income and effort. Millions of cashiers have lost their jobs to automated tellers and this has led to unemployment in this service sector. In addition, people have become more sedentary and obese as they use the extra time created by robot cacuum cleaners and washing machines to watch TV shows, eat chips, and drink beer. I have a few friends that definitely seem to do this too often. Nevertheless, the overall impact of robot assistance has a positive impact on the development of humanity.

Robots at home and in the workplace have freed up millions of hours of time and kilojoules of energy that people can now invest into other fruitful efforts to advance humanity. Shoppers around the world are no longer standing in 20-minute cues to go home with groceries thanks to robot checkouts; once home, they do not need to spend an hour washing clothes by hand, so they can take this extra 90 minutes in the day learning a new skill like cooking delicious food or just spending the time playing with their children. I can attest this has been true in my life and I feel much more satisfied as a result.

In conclusion, robots are becoming prevalent in the workforce and in the home, and their impacts can be viewed as both positive and negative. I definitely believe that the world is a better place with the assistance of machines. Ultimately, it is up to humans to use the extra time and energy provided by machines to make good decisions and use these wisely.