More and more young people from wealthy countries are spending a short time in communities in poorer countries doing unpaid work such as teaching or building houses. Why? Who benefit more from this, the community or these young people?

There is a growing number of the young who are from prosperous nations take part in voluntary projects such as education or housing construction in poorer countries. This phenomenon is caused by kindness of the young, and both volunteers and the community gain equal benefits.

The main reason why young people from wealthy countries are willing to offer vital help is that they want to share their love with residents in need. In developed countries, there is better conditions including higher standard of living, cutting-edge technology in comparison with undeveloped countries. Meanwhile, many disheartening news are shown every day, for example natural disasters resulting in homes to be lost or children not allowed to get to school. So that, the young who are from prosperous nations present a proactive way of doing unpaid work such as teaching or building houses to help citizens in difficult circumstances and make world a better place.

It is undoubted that both the young volunteers and the community could equally have merits from this phenomenon. Regarding the young, volunteering brings them a chance to build an attractive resume for international university. One of the criteria to evaluate foreign students is the volunteering they participated in. Moreover, young people also improve their soft skills and be mature after aiding people in poorer countries. For local society, quality of life there is heightened by warmhearted actions. For instance, the lack of education has a tendency to decrease, and children can study lots of knowledge such as foreign languages, science and essential skills without tuition.

In conclusion, the young from first world countries move to underdeveloped ones to do unpaid work because of their kindness. It seems that both volunteers and the area that receives help can gain some certain values.