The rise of the Internet has triggered a series of innovations that have made it in the daily life: what once seemed impossible, like speaking to people on the other side of the ocean or exploring the world thanks to satellite orbiting thousands miles over the atmosphere, has now become reality. Leaving by side the technological breakthroughs and focusing on a more practical aspect, what we are witnessing today is that the Internet has turned out to be an irreplaceable tool int the routine. With a steadily growing number of users accessing the Internet, it is no wonder that concerns about safety and privacy has been risen as well. This essay will analyze the benefits and the potential dangers hidden behind this trend.

Probably regarded as one of the most decisive innovation of the last century, the Internet is an immense source of information: students, doctors, scientist can rely on it when it comes to publishing the results of a research or when they are seeking for solutions. The Internet helps common people as well by supporting them in the everyday life. Shopping online or checking the bank account has become commonplace these days and a very thin minority seems to stick to old traditions. Put it simple, the Internet has made life easier and more comfortable than it used to be.

These apparently bright aspects should however not make us blind of the dangers looming in the dark bends of the cyberspace. Although the Internet grants the opportunity to order items from all over the world and to share our photos with our friends, users should also be aware of the digital footprints they leave every time they access the Web. Social media and shopping sites rely on personal data to offer items to buy or to suggest friends. It is nothing but advertising. Furthermore, users buying goods by using credit cards should also be aware of the potential risks connected with this procedure. Invisible to their eyes and often impossible to snare, cyber criminals try to get their hand on sensitive data to dry out bank accounts. Taking some simple steps, like updating the operating system and running an antivirus program can avert such crimes.

In conclusion, I would urgently recommend users to take actions to preserve their savings, especially when we consider that downloading and installing an antivirus is as simple as quick. Nevertheless, even with such precautions, sharing personal information like telephone number should also be avoided because one can never know who is hiding behind the screen. Too often children as well as adults reveal delicate private information that can fuel the criminal instinct of stalkers, pedophiles or maniacs.