Some people think that if a country is already rich any addition in economic wealth does not make its citizens happier. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The pursuit of happiness is something so special that the Founding Fathers saw it as a human right in the Declaration of Independence. Whether being rich does actually people happy is still up for debate and this issue leaves many questions open.

there is no doubt that bein well-off represents an immense advantage in day-to-day life, it allows to have the best medical assistance, to attend the most famous universities and to travel all around the world. Some argue, in contrary, that money cannot make people happy and that other values are crucial to gaining a fulfilled life.

Health, love, kindness cannot be bought or borrowed, they can earned only through passion, empathy and generosity. Therefore I would tend to agree to large extent with the statement which making the financial situation of the citizens better would not make their lives happier. On the other hand I would suggest not depicting money as the root of evil, for many reasons. First of all, money give people the freedom. Somebody wrote that freedom is the right to choose: the right to create for oneself the alternatives of choice. Consequently without money there would be no freedom. Governments should take action to hobble poverty and to build the foundations of economic freedom so that everybody could reach a stable financial condition.

To close, if it goes without saying that money cannot buy happiness, being rich allows to enjoy not only the superficial aspect of life, like parties, travels or expensive dinners, but also to have access to reliable medical treatments, to afford to buy a home and to have the possibility of forging its own destiny.