Most countries want to improve the standard of living through economic development however others think the social value is lost as a result Do you think the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages

It is believed by many nations that the infrastructure of a country needs to be improved if one needs to raise the living conditions of society. On the other hand, many think that this can only happen at the cost of loss of culture and social morals. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with the statement for in the dire need to improve we end up causing more harm than good. Nations end facing up with problems like an increase in pollution and crime rate.

In order to establish a better infrastructure, most nations exhaust their natural resources of forest and wildlife thus, leading to a rise in pollution. A recent study was done in 2018 by the environment department in Dehra Dun stated that the developed nations produced 90% of the toxic gasses that leave carbon footprints in the atmosphere. This was the result mainly due to excessive cutting of forests and destroying natural habitats of animals.

Another major factor that needs to take into account is the increase in the crime rate. Improving the living standards would further widen the gap between the rich and the poor, for the rich would buy all they can afford leaving the poor with just a desire to achieve what was already unattainable to them. A survey done by the International Crime Patrol stated that an increase in the crime rate in the late decade is mainly due to changes that were brought in by the economic development of the region.

To summarize, I strongly disagree with the fact that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. In my opinion, the drastic economical improvement would only lead to problems like a rise in crime and global warming.