The most essential component of a person’s life is his or her time at working place, and life turns meaningless once no job satisfaction is obtained. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, more and more contemporary attention has been placed on the opinion that job satisfaction is key to the meaning of our happy lives. In my opinion, I only agree in the part with this idea that time at the workplace is a crucial time, while job security is gradually becoming a determining in career choice.

On the one hand, I support the view that working time has an important role to play in employees’ life. We usually spend at least approximately 40 hours per week at the workplace, therefore this is necessary for exciting and enjoyable work hours, which not only increases significantly productivity but also is more likely to affect positively employees’ work relations. Moreover, in my view, those who have a boring, monotonous, and menial time at work for years on end may suffer from some form of mental health such as anxiety or depression. For example, if a company creates a positive and healthy working environment for employees, it always has well-qualified and competent staff.

On the other hand, I personally believe that the combination of the increasingly competitive job market and the rising cost of living means job security has become more important than job satisfaction for job seekers. Many people are not willing to experience temporary unemployment to look for new ones that offer a higher level of job satisfaction, especially primary breadwinners. Furthermore, job security is an optimal choice in order to have a stable paycheck, and provide a sense of security. For example, in today’s tight labor market where thousands of new graduates face unemployment annually, staying in the same job is a much safer choice than switching jobs just for job satisfaction.

In conclusion, although work hours could affect our quality of life, it seems to me that job security is more vital when it comes to living a fulfilling life.