The most important aim of science should be to improve people’s lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is argued that the most important goal of science is to improve the quality of life of its inhabitants. Personally, I believe in this view because science has greatly benefited people in many areas, such as health care and environmental protection.

To begin with, scientific advances have led to significant improvements in healthcare over the years. Researchers are more advanced in developing vaccines, improving surgical techniques, and developing medical devices. These innovations have not only saved countless lives but have dramatically improved the quality of life for people around the world. For example, during the COVID-19 pandemic, scientists rushed to research and create a vaccine against this dangerous virus to help people around the world overcome the crisis.

Another point is that science plays an essential role in contributing to the environment through innovation in technology. Science helps develop technologies to control and reduce pollution levels. It also helps to identify sources of pollution and develop methods to reduce harmful effects on the environment and human health. By way of illustration, scientists conducting air quality monitoring can collect data on air pollution levels and determine which pollutants are the most harmful. With this information, they can develop better air quality control technologies and policies to reduce pollution and its negative effects on human health.

To sum up, the improvement of people's lives ought to be science's primary goal. Science not only researches and develops necessary medical services and products but also contributes equally to helping reduce environmental pollution.