The most important aim of science should be to improve people’s lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There is a widespread view that enhancing human lives ought to be the principal goal of science. While I do admit that science plays a crucial role in making people’s lives better, there are other objectives of it, which are equally important.

On the one hand, science has already changed the way people live, and is still trying to make it even better. Scientific developments in some fields such as technology and medicine have made living much easier than ever. Take the examples of the internet and smartphones, these scientific discoveries help people connect with those who are far from them or access information online at unprecedented speeds. As for medicine, the average lifespan has increased for the past 20 years as cures have been found for several diseases that can lead to death. These scientific breakthroughs are aimed to create a better life for humans.

Nevertheless, improving the average lifestyle is one of the numerous purposes of science. The broader role of science is to learn about nature through experiments and find solutions to ongoing problems. Climate change, for instance, is putting the earth in jeopardy. By different scientific approaches, scientists can combat this global issue not only for better life provision but also this can help to keep the planet livable for future generations. To expand the understanding of the universe is another aim of science. Research and observations are being held to create sources, like books or even documentaries, to broaden people’s knowledge about the universe.

In conclusion, science has shown its importance in better human life through inventions, but it is not the only goal that science has to focus on. Other purposes given above should not be underestimated as they have equal significance as well.