The best way to improve road safety is to increase the minimum driving age from 18 to 23. To what extent do you agree?

The number of road accidents, especially caused by very young drivers, has recently been on the rise. Because of this, many are now suggesting that the age at which people start driving should be moved to 23. While this change could possibly reduce traffic incidents to a certain degree, in my view, other alternatives are far more effective.

There are some valid reasons why increasing the minimum age to get a driving licence can have a positive impact on road safety. The number-one reason is that as people age, they become more responsible for their actions. That is to say, they start thinking twice before they go over speed limits or break traffic rules Secondly, 23-year-olds are more emotionally stable than 18-year old people, which means they are less likely to be distracted while driving than their younger counterparts. Therefore, we can safely say that the policy proposed in question can lead to a reduction in road collisions.

Nevertheless, in opinion, other alternatives can provide better results in terms of road safety. One better option is to provide 16 to 18-year-old would-be drivers with better training. This training should include defensive driving skills, on-the-road training and at the end of the program, there should be an extended and strict test to ensure the quality of the training. A further solution that is more effective is to set maximum speeds for drivers under 23. The argument is that young drivers cause collisions since they cannot control their cars at high speeds. Thus, the alternative solutions mentioned above are more practical in real life.

In conclusion, despite reducing car accidents and their impact significantly, limiting the driving age to 23 is not the best way to improve safety on roads. Therefore, traffic safety authorities should look for other better solutions to address this issue.