The most important aim of science should be to improve people’s lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some have argued the most crucial aim of science is to improve the lives of ordinary people. In my opinion, though science might have grander aims at times, this simple goal is in fact its primary purpose.

Those who contend that science is not simply a means to improving ordinary life point out scientific inquiry can be a goal in itself. Many scientists do not imagine how their discoveries will benefit the general populace and are instead concerned with discovery and exploration. A standout example of this would be the theories of Charles Darwin, which had little immediate practical purpose other than to understand the origins of the human species. For the average researcher, concentrating solely on learning more about the natural world is a valid and potentially productive mindset. However, this interpretation of science does not reflect the real-world demands placed on science.

Historically, science has always been a platform to improve the daily lives of average individuals. This can be understood in a number of different senses. In terms of medicine, procedures and pharmaceuticals are designed with the explicit purpose of lengthening and elevating quality of life. When it comes to technology, science can be seen as subordinate to the arts and the enjoyment of the average person. The entire purpose of developing technologies such as mobile phones and computers is to allow users to listen to music, watch movies and televisions shows, edit their own videos, engage in word processing, and so on. Therefore, the highest aim of science is ultimately only to provide humans with the means to express themselves and reach others.

In conclusion, since improving life can be interpreted widely, it is decidedly the main aim of science. Those who argue for a more idealistic interpretation are not considering the pragmatism that should be the foundation of all scientific endeavor.