The most important aim of science should be to improve people’s lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Whether or not the development of science should be focused on the well-being of human beings is being commonly debated. Some believe that scientists should solely aim for scientific breakthroughs and not be influenced by any other factors other than their field of study. However, this essay would argue that all scientific experiments should prioritize enhancing the quality of the lives of people, and that any science which is detrimental to people should be ceased.

To start with, many people opine that scientists should be encouraged to endeavor in making any scientific progress. If limitations were posed on them, requiring that the achievements in their field must do good to the public, then the researchers’ potential of making significant discoveries would be greatly restricted. Others who also advocate that science does not necessarily need to be aimed at improving lives suggest that any advancements in science would mean a stop further for us mankind. For example, from ancient cold weapons to the atomic bombs nowadays, despite the destructive capabilities of such weapons, they represent a great leap in humans’ military equipments.

Although such statements may seem adequate at first glance, flaws could be easily be found at second glance. Aiming to improve human lives does not limit scientists, it serves as a motivation instead. Nowadays, many scientists in the medical field are experimenting to battle various diseases. During the COVID19 pandemic, especially, top medical institutions worked day and night in the hope of finding a cure and vaccine. They were propelled by the thought of they could save millions of lives which are threatened by the deadly virus. Besides, in spite of the primary deterious effects of nuclear, scientists have optimized its use and is now used in power plants to produce electricity globally. Hence, though some scientific discoveries may have adverse effect on people, the ultimate goal is for scientists to continue experimenting and find a way which exploits their advantageous aspects.

To sum up, the goal of scientific research to improve people’s lives act as a motivation rather than a limiting one, and scientists should always treat this aim with utmost priority.