The most important aim of science should be to improve people’s lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In the fast-paced life, a lot of people perceive that science should be concerned to make people's lives become much better. I partly agree to this opinion.

A better living standard for people is the most crucial aim of scientific research because of two factors. First of all, almost scientific research is implemented by people, so they must benefit from there before considering towards advantages of other subjects such as animals or plants. Therefore, people could target to the prospects by the development of science, especially medical achievements which can help people live healthier. Furthermore, resources for research are limited and they would be saved for people. A wide range of fields require enormous financial resources from governments. For instance, the budget for purchasing vaccines to treat the Covid-19 pandemic for people's new normal life is very high, contributing to the financial burden of developing countries such as Vietnam or Laos. Not just the fact that people must face more and more pandemic in their lives but also they become more vulnerable because of the hard work in modern life, and science could resolve this problem.

On the other hand, there are several drawbacks if sciene is only prioritised to people. Firstly, there could have been numerous animals used for science experiments at risks, hence wiping out in their population. This would not be also virtuous if there were a lot of deaths. Secondly, people could be better without depending on science. Take music or film as an example. These artistic sources do play a crucial role in people's mental health, which do not require any sacrification. Thus, science could target to another dedication such as reserving or regenerating extinct animals.

To summarize that, from my perspective although science is still very essential for people, scientists should not ignore other living beings throughout the world.