The most important aim of science should be to improve people’s lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

These past few decades have witnessed an increase in the concern for the pure purpose of science. Some people claim that the first and foremost use of science is to better the living condition of human beings. From my vantage point, I totally in favor of that school of thought for the following reasons.

To begin with, I believe that since science can exist thanks to the mankind, it is a duty for science to provide its creator with priorities. In other words, human beings are the one who give birth to and develop science to the current level. As a result, it is understandable that the most noble aim of science might be to satisfy humankind's needs and ameliorate the living standards of people.

Another driving force for my statement is that by upgrading people's living state, science could also benefit from it. To be specific, it is a fact that people's demand always rise at a rapid speed as time flies. This could, therefore, lead to the phenomenon of mankind, especially scientists and developers striving to dig deeper and promote this particular field, which in turns may open up a new era in the history of humankind.

In conclusion, in my opinion, science should be used as a tool to enhance mankind's lives because firstly it is a responsibility and secondly, it is a win-win situation.