Most large companies nowadays operate multi-nationally. To what extent do multinational companies have responsibility toward local communities in which they operate?

It is true that these days corporate behemoths mostly operate outside the confines of national borders. Personally, I disagree that these enterprises should hold any responsibilities toward local communities as they have already benefited these areas

Granted, the emergence of these multinational companies has already enhanced employment in the area where they based their offices. Since a new corporation is established in an area, there is a need for the local workforce, which has deep knowledge about this region, in order to conduct business effectively. Consequently, that corporation will employ a huge number of job seekers, decreasing the unemployment rate and improving standards of living in the area. For example, according to The Guardian, the unemployment rate in Canada dropped to almost 6.9%, the lowest since 2008, when a proliferation of multination companies such as Google or Apple came to this country. Therefore, the government should welcome these multinational enterprises’ establishment as it improves employment.

On the other hand, multinational companies could improve social welfare in the areas they base their offices. This is because when operating businesses in a country, these corporations have to follow the policies of paying taxes in that area, which contribute considerably to the state budget. Should this budget increase, the government will spend more on the distribution of social benefits such as educational services or medical care, which could satisfy citizens’ needs. Therefore, the welfare in society is improved because of a considerable amount of income from the taxes of these multinational corporations

In conclusion, multinational companies may not need to be responsible for local communities because of having already contributed to employment and social welfare in these areas.