Most people are not interested in how their food has been produced. They only care about how much it costs.

How true is this statement? What influences when they buy food

Modern people in the recent years are believed to attach mischief attention to the price of food more than the sources and cuisine of food. Personally, I think this belief is just half of the truth because both of these factors have a direct effect on the customers’ demand for food.

For one thing, the selection for food depends on individual conditions. Better-off people will consider the food that is nutritious and healthy with higher cost. Notwithstanding, the workers who are short of time and money usually prefer fast food and ready-meal with the cheaper price but not healthy at all. For instance, low-income people have a tendency to cheap food because their budgets do not allow them to expect food with high nutrient.

For another thing, there are various vital elements that directly affect the way people purchasing food. According to the previous paragraph, price of food is one of the key factors to choose the suitable food. In addition, food that can supply enough nutritive substance and calories to work for a long time is still the best choice. The better quality of food they eat, the better health they have. For example, when the housewife buying food, they always focus their effort in selecting the best products with the moderate price to prepare for the healthy meal instead of choosing either luxurious food or poor nutrients for saving a few coins.

To sum up, both money and quality of food are regarded as the first priorities when purchasing food. I think the consumers should be money-conscious and appropriately perceive their earnings in order to buy food which are not only economical but also good for their health.