Most people do not care enough about environmental issues.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is thought that environmental problems are not adequately concerned by the majority of people. While I agree with this point of view, I believe there might be several situations in which they raise awareness of this issue.

On the one hand, there is a lot of evidence that environmental concerns are not really vital to most people at present. Firstly, it seems logical that the priority of anyone is going to work, taking care of family and enjoying life. The work pressure causes people to pay less attention to global warming, deforestation and other similar problems. After a long hard-working day, people could be surrounded by household chores and the duty to their family. This leads to their less interest in solving any global burning issues, including climate change. Furthermore, many people believe that they cannot make any contribution to environmental protection. They think it is the responsibility of the government and organizations, rather than of each person. As a result, minor activities are not considered, such as reducing dispensable plastics, saving electricity and turning off unnecessary lights.

On the other hand, I believe people sometimes are really interested in these problems. In some circumstances, we can see the increasing public awareness of global warming or plastic waste, especially when there is any serious information related to climate change. Similar behavior can be seen during public campaigns, such as Earth Hour, which is held annually in March. In other words, the public occasionally cares about environmental issues.

In conclusion, although sometimes people consider environmental problems, I am convinced that most of them usually do not pay enough attention to these issues.