New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, leisure activities have been replaced by advanced technologies, as we can see that more children spending most of their free time on watching a video, playing online games, and reading the e-book. While new technologies can bring some immediate benefits, I am convinced that its drawbacks have more effects on children’s life.

Looking first at the advantages, it would seem that children would gain many advantages from technology. Firstly, technology offers much updated and upcoming information which would enhance children’s knowledge. To illustrate, when children read the e-books, they would develop their reading skills and also learn many things from the information that they read immediately. Secondly, technology is the advanced way of entertainment for children. This ranges from online games to social media. For instance, kids can play online games to entertain them when they have much time in case of the bad weather outside their home.

Moving to disadvantages, the first probable negative effect from technology is related to health, ranging from damaged eye-sight to obesity. The second effect is that it may reduce children’s interested in the academic subject. If children became seriously addicted to the games and social network, they would lose their attention in the classroom. The last possible drawback is lack of socialization. The reason given for this is that they would spend much time using computer or mobile phone and neglect some outdoor activities, which make them not to interact with their peers and friends.

In summary, it is logical to conclude that disadvantages of new technology outweigh its advantages. This is because not only would technology obtain adverse effects on health and academic performance for children, but would reduce their social skills as well.