New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages

There is no room for doubt that the huge advancements of technological devices have changed significantly the way children spend their leisure time since the rise of the digital era. This essay solely argues that the advantages of this situation outweigh its drawbacks. This essay will first demonstrate about its advantageous impact on the way students learn today and give an analysis of its drawback which leads to an unhealthy lifestyle.

On the one hand, it is more likely that the education takes advantage of technology to give students a fresh approach to lessons by applying distance-learning method. This type of learning method is thoroughly handy because students could learn and review their lessons at home at a click of a mouse without attending schools, which is time-consuming for parents to pick their children to schools. Furthermore, the modern learning approach helps children to prevent toxic diseases, which makes their parents less worry about being infected. Taking China as a prime example, where the outbreak of coronavirus epidemic occurs, and therefore, its ministry of education and training forces to close all schools and switches to the distance-learning method to help students to review their lessons.

On the other hand, despite the rapid development of cutting-edge technology, it is widely assumed that children are leading to an unhealthy sedentary lifestyle. This is because children are easily addicted to novel modern devices such as tablet, smartphone, television, laptop and so on, resulting in less engaging in physical activities as well as chronic diseases like intense back pains or severe headaches. For instance, a survey conducted by the Vietnamese government reveals that children have a tendency to enjoy playing online games over 8 hours daily, which is the primary driver to an increasing number of short-sighted children today.

On balance, the fact that the advantage of modern technologies clearly outweighs the flawed argument that this enhances the children's ability to self-studying.