New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that new technological inventions have significantly influenced many areas of children’s lives these days. While there are some certain drawbacks of this trend, I would argue that the benefits are greater for young people.

Undeniably, using modern gadgets may lead to addictions and being passive in children. In other words, kids who are easy to be attracted by the convenience and the vivid animations may become addicted when they are early exposed to these devices. In Vietnam, for instance, the number of children addicted to computer games has risen since these games were imported to the country. Moreover, children are likely to spend less time one motion games when they are interested in new devices. That is considered as one of the main causes of lots of health problems such as diabetes, obesity, heart-related problems, and other diseases.

On the other hand, there will be more advantageous if children use new technologies properly. First, these modern devices give kids access to the immense source of information that they can widen their knowledge and determine their future career paths. In addition, through learning from different types of information, children raise awareness of some diseases and then try to avoid them. Take my overweight nephew for an example; he stops eating fast food and insists his mother buy him a running machine after watching a TV program about the dangers of obesity. Finally, children can also expand their relationships by using social networking sites such as Facebook, Twitter.

In conclusion, it seems to me that modern gadgets are harmful to children to some aspects, but children can benefit in many ways if these devices are used rightly.