News have no connections to people’s lives, so it is a waste of time to read the news in newspaper or watch news on TV programmes. Agree or disagree?

Many people argue that there is no use in reading the newspaper or watching news programs because news is irrelevant to people’s lives. Personally, I completely disagree with this view for several reasons.

A certain amount of news, in fact, have a direct or indirect influence on original people’s various life aspect. For one thing, the information regarding the occurrence in the local environment may affect public’s decisions on their plans or daily activities for work, study, or leisure. For example, weather forecasts on newspapers or TV news could give readers or viewers some clues or references for the choice of their proper clothes or the arrangement of outdoor activities. Similarly, the latest government policies, regulations, or laws published on newspapers or TV are inextricably linked to civilians’ personal interests, such as the social welfare they are entitled to and the civil obligation that they have to abide by.

Even for the news that is not closely related to people’s interests, knowing it may not be time-wasting as long as a certain form of value it offered. First of all, some news coverage about the scandals of celebrities or the results of matches on sports sections could hardly affect people’s life quality but does provide ideal common topics for daily communicating or socializing with friends, colleagues or family members.

In conclusion, I believe that reading newspapers or watching news programs not only not time-wasting but also beneficial to our life/ informatively beneficial.