Not so many people use a bicycle although it has many benefits. Why? How to encourage people to use bicycles as a main transport?

It is clear that the benefits of bicycles have never stopped gaining in popularity over the past few years. Given that fewer people prefer this means of transport in the modern world, identifying the reasons behind this decline is key to finding the solution to increase its popularity.

There are a number of reasons leading to the uncommon use of bicycles. First, since bicycles are too slow compared with high-speed vehicles, such as motorbikes and cars, they are no longer the top priority when people are in emergencies. For example, traveling within cities could take weeks or months using bicycles, which discourages people from cycling. Second, the decline in the use of bicycles can be attributed to the lack of cycle lanes. This means that cyclists have to share lanes with others, which puts bikers at risk of facing such potential traffic-related danger.

Nevertheless, there are also a variety of solutions to increase the popularity of bicycles. First, the governments should take steps to encourage the use of these environmentally-friendly vehicles by raising the price of petrol or imposing taxes on other forms of transportation. As a result, more and more people would transfer to bicycles as it would be more economically sound. Second, by creating more designated cycling routes in the cities where either pedestrians or cars cannot get in, citizens would feel safe traveling by bicycle. The city Toronto, for instance, has a large cycling network, motivating its citizens to cycle more regardless of activity.

In conclusion, although cycling has lost its popularity in recent times, there are still many ways to reverse this trend.