Nowadays both men and women spend a lot of money on beauty care. This was not so in the past.

What may be the root cause of this behavior? Discuss the reasons and possible results.

The usage of different types of cosmetic products has been increasing rapidly because they are easily accessible. As a consequence, in contemporary time, both men and women overspend their money on such products to enhance their outer appearance. This essay will explore two primary reasons and two possible results of this trend.

To begin with the causes, first and foremost, people have been using different types of social media platforms, such as Instagram, Facebook, Twitter, and many more, that promote different types of products, especially beauty care-related products, for the last half decade. As a result of that, individuals tend to purchase these products regularly, and with time, they get addicted to using them. For instance, the report submitted by Time of India depicts that an Instagram advertisement made by Lakeme, which is the most popular brand for beauty care products in India, contributed around 43.72% of its sales in 2022. The influence of peers is another factor behind the continued use of these products. Human beings generally have at least one role model in their lives, and they want to become like them. In other words, if a celebrity starts to use such products in his daily life, his followers will automatically start to use them.

Moving onto the possible outcomes, firstly, people may suffer from various skin-related diseases. To clarify, chemicals that are used to produce beauty care products have a negative effect on sensitive skin because they damage skin tissues. For example, people are suffering from itching after applying these products. Last but not least, people have been purchasing expensive beauty care products. Hence, they might face difficulty to maintain their monthly budgets.

Overall, it is evident that there are various causes, such as promotion and influence, responsible for compulsive spending on beauty care products, which can lead to serious consequences like skin-related issues and poor management of expenditures. Thus, it is important to control the usage of such products.