Nowadays, children spend too much time watching TV and playing computer games. Some people believe this has negative effects on children’s mental abilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that in today’s modern life, children spend too much their leisure time in video games and TV programs which lead to detriment of their mental health. In my opinion, I completely disagree with this idea and believe that there are both advantages and disadvantages of such a view.

There are two main reasons why televisions and computer games can have a negative impact on many youngsters these days. Firstly, it is unquestionable that there are some obscence contents on certain films or electronic games, such as violent and erotic scences, which can trigger the imagination and curiosity of children. For this reason, this might have a harmful influence on infants’ minds who are sensitive to such informations. Another important reason is that game-addicted children not only lead a sedentary lifestyle but also lose their communicative skills. For instance, if these children prefer joining team sports to keeping their eyes glued to screens, they can stand a good chance of establishing the connections with others in real life. Therefore, Physical activitiy is a significant factor which helps their brain develop.

However, TV shows and video games play an essential role in brainpower of children. One reason is that the youth can avail their self of the opportunity to broaden their knowledge through new technologies. For example, Discovery Channel is one of the most well-known TV programs which widen children’s horizon about unknown natural habitats and importance of preserving Endangered species. Furthermore, a number of games such as Brain Yoga and Chess online can make a contribution to improve kids’ intelligence.

In conclusion, I personally agree that TV channels and electronic games have both beneficial and detrimental effects on psychological development of youngsters.