Nowadays the eating habits of people around the world are changing, causing many health problems, including obesity.

Why do people tend to eat so badly?

What can be done to improve eating habits?

As the consumption of fast food has been in an incline, many health problems associated with the unhealthy eating habits have risen, including serious problems like obesity. Though these trend are eminent to all, there seems to be not much of a change in people’s behaviour towards their food consumption pattern, where the issues like high paced life and inability to cook are to blame. In order to solve these issues collective efforts of both people and the fast food chains are essential.

People nowadays are overly invested in their work, thus having some time out of their hefty schedule to cook is often not possible. With their high demanding job, draining all their energy at work, people find themselves too tired to spend their spare time to cook healthy meals at home, but resort to ordering food online, which in general are less healthier than home cooked meals. Moreover, in most countries, young people do not bother to learn how to cook in the first place, thus ordering-in or going to fast food chains becomes their only option. A survey by Good Morning America stated, fast food chains are the leading cause for growing health problems in America, while the problems will get more serious, with number of youths not having any cooking skills growing by the day.

These unhealthy eating habits can only be solved with the collaborative efforts of people, government and the businesses. Firstly, people should be encouraged to do meal-prep for the entire week in their free time, such that they can have an option for a healthy meal when necessary in a matter of seconds, with few click of buttons in the microwave. Additionally, young people should be provided home economics classes in school, where they can learn the importance of a healthy diet as well as gain the skill to make the meals by themselves. Furthermore, fast food chains can play their part for the solution by introducing healthier choices in their menu, such that people are encouraged to make healthier choices even when eating out.

In conclusion, the spike in health issues associated with unhealthy eating habits in the current world are the result of people choosing a high paced life with rarely any time to cook a homemade meal as well as the growing dependency of youths on fast food. These issues can be elleviated by encouraging people to try meal-prep, while making food businesses introduce healthier options in their menu.