Nowadays, full-time university student tend to focus on their studying. Some people think it is essential for university students to be involved in other activities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The topic of whether university students should only focus on their studying is of concern for many parents and teachers. Some people believe that it is important for the university student to attend other activities in order to gain more working experience, but others disagree. As for me, I strongly agree the former.

For those who concentrate on university studying hold the following reasons. Firstly, full-time studying in the university will consume lots of time and students do not have enough time to take part in other activities. For example, the students who study in Australia are required to enrol four subjects per semester and approximately more than 12 hours for lecture and tutorial studying per week. Students need to spend the amount of time in studying if they want to successfully pass all of these subjects. As a result, attending other activities is impossible for students because of inadequate time. Secondly, students are required to pay more attention to their studying because some of the subjects are more difficult. Especially for the first year students who study in university, it is the first time for them to access the university knowledge. Moreover, the first year students who do not have good ability to study by themselves, therefore it is essential for them to attend all of the lectures and tutorials in order to understand the knowledge more comprehensively. So those difficult subjects are not allowed students to attend other activities.

However, there are some others say that it is necessary for university students to be involved in other activities. To start with, students attend some indoor sports such as gym, basketball and football will enhance the immunity and release the pressure. The long time period studying will lead to immunity reduction for students and also heavy studying might increase students’ pressure. Therefore, spending a few hours to take part in some indoor sports after a whole day studying will improve development of physical and mental health. Besides, students who take part in some activities such as internships will increase their working experience and benefit for the future career. There are lots of internship opportunities are provided by the university every year, which is a good chance for the student to gain the working experience. Therefore attending those of activities are not only acquire more working experiences but also have social adaptability early. As results, it is important for students to attend other activities.

To sum up, I personally agree the idea of attending other activities. Although students focus on their studying is reasonable, I think that the idea of attending other activities are much better than concentrate on their studying.