Nowadays, full-time university students tend to focus on their study. Some people think it is essential for university students to be involved in other activities. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

It is true that nowadays students are concentrating on academic study in universities. While I agree that academic study is the main responsibility for university student, I believe that it is also important for young student to take part into extra-curricular activities.

On the one hand, it would help to develop the profession skills for student to participate activities, such as sporting clubs and volunteering activities. These activities could build skills that class study would not always foster. For example, a leadership-oriented club would develop students’ leadership skills and project management skills while a speech club would help student to practice the public speech skills. In a word, these activities would build students ability of multi-tasks and teamwork spirits which would be the key skills needed in the later life.

On the other hand, it would prepare student better employability for the future work. Activities such as internship and part-time work would help students to put knowledge into practise and gain the experience in the chosen fields. Furthermore, In most cases, an internship during terms would always lead to an official offer after graduate, which means that students would build their network during internship and get the opportunity to achieve a work offer that most students aim for.

In conclusion, academic study is the main task for university students, and I believe students should involved into some social activities in order to improve their skills for the future work and life.