Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying altrenative medicines adn treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Health has always been a matter of great concern as it is said that “health is gold”. Recently, more and more people have their sicknesses and diseases treated at home using some unprescribed remedies. Although advocates to such matter has their reasons for why it is immensely positive, several problems have already been witnessed.

To some certain extent, using alternative medicine or treatment has its own merit. First, treatment for some common sicknesses are available anywhere, anytime thanks to the widespread Internet and social media. With just some simple clicks, people can access to a variety of therapies as well as feedback from the former users without spending a great amount of time and money going to the hospital. Second, in some rural or isolated areas, visiting doctors is not always possible, especially in emergency cases, being able to perform first-aid practices on the patients may help save their life.

However, due to several latent consequences, using any kinds of remedies or medicine without diagnosis or prescription from doctors can be risky, or even fatal. First of all, any health problems need to be checked and diagnosed carefully by experienced and highly-skilled people, like doctors or pharmacists. Before drawing an accurate and precise conclusion, performing any therapies or taking medicine can be dangerous. Next, there is a wide range of information on the Internet, which makes it really challenging to choose a trust-worthy source. Spams and fake news have arisen as an alarming issue in terms of the reliability of whatever is posted on the Web. Therefore, mistaken choices may lead to unexpected results and regret as once health is affected, it is not easy to recover.

To conclude, either visiting doctors or taking alternative treatments or medicines has its own merits and demerits. However, patients, no matter what their health problems are and how good their health condition is, must go to the hospital or doctor for more accurate and further consultation to avoid unwanted consequences.