Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

It is said that many people support alternative medicines and treatments instead of prescription ones. I believe this development is negative to some extent.

On the one hand it is understandable why alternative medicines are supported by people. With the introduction of new technologies, such as the internet, individuals have become more health-conscious and search online for information about different diseases and treatments. This trend can be seen as positive, as many people learn how to maintain their health. They are taught about home remedies and herbal treatments, which can be safer and cheaper than chemical medicines. The traditional medicine can be useful and better for some curable diseases because such medicines do not have active ingredients which can have some side effects.

However, we must consider that traditional and alternative treatments are not applicable to all diseases. Due to a lack of medical knowledge, people may endanger their health by failing to understand the underlying causes of their illnesses. For example, COVID-19 can start with symptoms resembling a simple cold. If individuals rely solely on home remedies and herbal treatments, they risk allowing the virus to infect their lungs, potentially becoming victims of this fatal disease. Additionally, most people are unaware of the correct dosages they should use. Overuse of alternative medicines can lead to drug poisoning. As a result, most of the time the conventional treatment is prioritized, as doctors know better how to guide people about diseases.

I believe that using alternative medicines can be beneficial as long as they are used under the supervision of doctors. The advantages of prescription medications should not be underestimated, as they can safeguard people's health against many dangerous diseases that alternative treatments may not effectively address.