Nowadays, a large amount of advertising is aimed at children. Some think this can have negative effects on children and should banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

With so much advertising intended for children, many assert that it may have harmful impacts on children who would be likely to imitate what they see and therefore shouldn’t be allowed to play. In my opinion, simply forbidding advertising, though somewhat helpful, isn’t the key to shielding children from the dark side of the world. Parents’ supervision comes far more important .

Indeed, certain advertisements may contain some negative contents, violence, greed, unhealthy diet to name some. Too much exposure to these may cause children’s improper behaviors. Therefore, banning these advertisements can ensure children to have access to as much beneficial information. However, that’s just part of the story. There are also advertisements focusing on kindness, generosity and balanced diet. For example, many nonprofit organizations have run their own advertisements featuring public service to encourage people to better their community as well as the whole world. Therefore, it is unwise to cut off all advertisements. In other words, not all advertisements should be to blame for children’s misbehaviors. Parents should also take their responsibilities.

Information may vary. And it’s parents who should help filter the information and make sure their children obtain what are good for them. Furthermore, as an individual, every child are supposed to learn to get involved in the real world. It’s a necessary part of their growth. Even if advertising can be banned, there are far more other ways to acquire information besides watching advertisements, for example books, movies, songs,etc. Therefore, only with parents’ guidance can the problem be tackled. To ban advertising is to avoid parents’ role in children’s education.

In a word, advertising can be both beneficial and harmful, and it’s unwise to simply prohibit all the advertisements. Besides, advertising isn’t the only way for children to learn about the world. We cannot simply ban every way. To guarantee children’s mental health, parents should perform their duty.