Nowadays in many countries woman have full time jobs. therefore, it is logical to share household task evenly between man and woman. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement.

In the past, housework was considered to be women’s duty, so people usually took it for granted that women had to deal with all household chores without any help from other family members. Yet, with the increasing number of female employees in the workforce, some people challenge the traditional thinking that women should take care of all housework. In my opinion, I completely agree with this gender-equal idea to a large extent for two reasons.

To begin with, it is unfair to impose the burden of all housework on women, for their roles in modern society have changed tremendously over the years. No longer are women confined to the traditional role of doing all maid-like drudgery at home. Since it is difficult for a single wage-earner to support a family, the majority of women today have sought full-time jobs to supplement their household income. Just like their fathers or husbands, women devote most of their time to their work during the daytime and suffer from considerably higher levels of work-related stress and anxiety; therefore, they deserve proper rest after a day’s hard work as men do. Nevertheless, if these career women are heavily burdened with the housework tasks after work, they might be overwhelmed with fatigue and stress, eventually compromising their physical and mental health.

Additionally, splitting household duties evenly can create a harmonious family relationship. For example, if parents share housework responsibilities, this will have two positive effects on their family. First, children will realize that women or mothers are not synonymous with housework, with each family member responsible for doing it. Second, sharing housework is an effective way to show affection and care to beloved families. A husband can make his wife aware of his love to her if he is willing to do the dishes after each meal. Likewise, a boy can show his care to his mother or sisters if he does the laundry from time to time. Given that housework sharing has the potential to strengthen the family bond or enhance a marital relationship, it is justifiable to argue that both genders ought to fulfill their housework responsibilities.

To recapitulate, gone are the days when women are imposed on all housework. Nowadays, each family member should do housework because it can relieve women of their burden and foster a gender-friendly environment. Hence, it is reasonable for both genders to share household chores.