Nowadays in many countries woman have full time jobs therefore it is logical to share household task evenly between man and woman To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement

In days of yore, household chores were considered to be women’s duty, so people took it for granted that women had to do all the housework without any assistance from other members, particularly their husbands. However, with an increase of female full-time employment, some people, especially feminists, start to challenge this gender-biased concept, suggesting that men and women should equally share household chores. From my perspective, this egalitarian belief should be greatly promoted despite some manageable demerits.

Admittedly, we cannot be oblivious of several drawbacks of this gender-equal trend. One potential downside is that men are less experienced in dealing with household chores, and this is due to the fact that according to customs of many countries, many seldom take an active role in doing housework. As a result, they may end up doing household tasks in a less perfect way, which would lead to some unnecessary quarrels between partners and hindering their family bond. However, there is little likelihood of these happenings because wives can offer some tips or guidance to their husbands when they learn how to share house chores such as mopping floors or doing laundry.

In fact, the rationality of splitting housework equally should be recognized in the following reasons. First and foremost, there is no biological determinant for housework. No gender is physically predisposed to do the dishes or take out the trash. Second, it is unfair to impose the burden of all housework on women given the fact that their roles in modern society have changed tremendously over the years. Just like their fathers or husbands, women are also committed to their career during the daytime and suffer from considerably higher levels of work-related stress and anxiety. Therefore, they deserve proper rest after a day’s hard work as men do, or they might be overwhelmed with fatigue and stress, eventually compromising their physical and mental health.

In addition, splitting household duties evenly helps promote gender equality, fostering an environment with a strong emphasis on mutual support and respect. If parents share housework responsibilities, they convey to their children that women or mothers are not synonymous with housework; in other words, each family member should be accountable for the household chores. Better yet, housework sharing is an effective way to show love and care to our beloved ones, thereby conducive to a healthy marital relationship and a strong bond among family members.

In conclusion, although some conflicts might be triggered by equally splitting household drudgery, the benefits of this trend far outweigh its drawbacks. Hence, it is justifiable to believe that both genders should share housework.