Nowadays many people choose to be self employed rather than to work for a company or organization Why might this be the case What could be the disadvantages of being self employed

The concept of a free style work has become widespread in recent years. Many individuals prefer self-employment over the traditional type of work in an organization or company. This essay will discuss the possible reason behind this preference, and examine some drawbacks of being self-employed.

Independence can be the fundamental cause for a growing number of individuals to establish their own mode of work. In other words, these people simply escape from the pressures of work being held under control of managers or owners of companies, thereby setting up their flexible working times according to their own schedule. For example, a recent survey conducted by researchers has revealed that the majority of today’s youths are becoming bloggers not only because of its lucrative value, but also because of its benefits related to liberty which it provides for the earner. Therefore, more and more people are opting for self-employment in order to become self-reliant earners.

Besides, there are some disadvantages that this type of work can bring. Firstly, it can be pertained to jeopardy of failure. That is to say that setting up one’s own business may have certain levels or risks, such as the business may go bankrupt or the resources required for a particular business may be scarce. Furthermore, being the owner of one’s own work means being the sole responsible person for the entire work, and whatever the costs and burdens it carries will be put upon the self-employed person only. Thus, due to its nature which include risks and responsibilities, the free style employment may be cumbersome to some extent.

In conclusion, it is true that, these days, a number of people are no longer working for an institution or company, and instead are moving towards self-occupation. Although this is advantageous in terms of freedom from the control of company executives, it can be disadvantages regarding the risks and responsibilities associated with it.