Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

These days, the idea of setting up a start-up has become increasingly popular. Recently, people have started to opt for self-employment, instead of working as full-time employees in a big multinational company. This essay will discuss what are the causes of an increased number of entrepreneurs including independent working and low wages from large firms. Also, this essay will explore the demerits of having one’s start-up.

To begin with, in today’s era, with advancement in technology and access to multiple resources, people tend to come up with new innovative ideas for starting their own company. The primary cause for this is that upcoming youth do not accept the culture of bossing around; that happens in corporations. For instance, research shows that 50% of people setting up new organization was mainly because they wanted to work independently without management’s pressure. Additionally, one of the compelling reasons could be that the corporates do not pay well. To sum up, due to reasons like corporate pressure and lower-income many people switch to self-employment.

On the other hand, self-employment does not guarantee a steady flow of income as it depends on the growth and development of the start-up. During the initial few months, many entrepreneurs face challenges like no clients, no sales, no increment in terms of profit. McDonald's, for example, initially had the lowest sales among all the food chains in the market, and the owner was about to shut down the business due to no sales. Furthermore, self-employed people do not have the perks and benefits of corporate schemes like health cover insurance, Mediclaim, and food cards. To recapitulate, although there are many reasons to become an entrepreneur; there are some drawbacks as well.

In conclusion, in this essay, we discussed the reasons for becoming an entrepreneur like independent working and low wages. We also explored few disadvantages including the unsteady flow of money and not getting the advantages of corporate schemes.