Nowadays many people choose to be self employed rather than to work for a company or organisation Why might this be the case What could be the disadvantages of being self employed

Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

These days, it is apparent that individuals are appealing to the notion of establishing private businesses in preference to enlisting themselves in enterprises due to its engaging mercies. This essay will analyze the causes of this phenomenon as well as the downsides that entrepreneurs may have to deal with.

On the one hand, with the rapid pace of innovation, people often come up with novel ideas. They would rather materialize these proposals to do startups than seek opportunities to be recruited by organizations. As they desire to be beyond bosses’ control and achieve economic self-sufficiency as well as flexibility in schedules and deadlines. Besides, young businessmen establish their own companies mostly since their passions are to unlock new potentials and experience challenges in society prior to thriving. To illustrate, COX Business discovered that half of the enterprise owners were motivated by the idea of creating something from the ground up and their particularly initial goals were freedom and satisfaction.

On the other hand, operating a start-up may not guarantee stable incomes together with permanent uptime for entrepreneurs. Most businessmen, especially youngsters lack motivation and patience in attracting clients during the initial periods of their self-employment as they have not accumulated paramount knowledge or built relationships. High ego and ignoring others’ constructive suggestions are also the culprit of erroneous decisions. They may experience a notable decline in sales and the worst scenario is bankruptcy. For instance, Startup Genome has announced that 9 out of 10 startups fail in the first year of operations. Furthermore, company operators also face the risk of acquisition by a larger business. As their products are mostly exclusive, owners of big enterprises may hunt for chances for corporate mergers. Therefore, self-employed individuals may lose their own brands and have to serve senior officers.

To sum up, becoming a boss may be profitable and a worthy experience. However, entrepreneurs should be aware of risks and obstacles that may challenge them before starting a business.