Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

There is no doubt that our world has witnessed a variation of career trend in which more and more people prefer working for their own company to working for another organization or firm. This happens with two main reasons which depend on people's personality and the general career trend. However, this also creates various negative effects to those who are self-employed. This essay will give the analysis of this hot button issue.

It is mostly believed that self-employment is energetically fostered among the young due to not only their talents but also their exposure toward the contemporary start-up trend. To genius people who have been immersing in tons of work and strictly limited with their simple roles in one small department of a company may find themselves more potentially productive in another role and better conditions for their self-development. And self-employment is their solution. In addition, startup has gradually become a world trend, which encourages more and more young self-employed people to strive for their desired businesses. One specific example for this is a large number of the youngsters choosing to operate their startup companies even when they are undergraduate students. Nowadays, with the widespread of startup TV shows such as Shark Tank where many start-up owner can persuade and call for investments for their own firms, it is clear to prove that they have many opportunities to make their dreams come true.

However, people who work for their own business can confront with dozens of difficulties. At first, their business can get a high risk of bankruptcy when they lack of management skills, practical experiences and their project feasibility, Another disadvantage of being self-employed is that the business is in the competition with very large corporations who gain the biggest market share in the same field. These are really challenging to newborn firms and require the owners clear visions, real abilities and patience.

In conclusion, self-employment is really a great opportunity for those who are potentially talented in their characteristics to be able to tackle with a wide range of difficulties existing in every business.