Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Instead of starting a job within an institution, there is a growing section of society that prefers working for themselves. This essay is going to discuss the possible reasons behind this decision, as well as the downwards it may present.

The main profit of self-employment consist of having much more freedom. Working for yourself implies becoming your own boss, therefore you can design a job that suits you perfectly. For instance, you design your own schedule. Apart from this, in order to pursue your own projects and visions, starting your own business seems a logical option.

However, self-employment demands a great deal of responsibility and commitment. To put it more simply, it requires control of all the aspects of your work or business, which is quite time-consuming. Thus, a person must be wholeheartedly determined with their project, so that it can overcome any obstacle and have a chance at being successful.

In conclusion, although self-employment demands sacrifice and will power, there is a growing number of people that decide to begin this path, due to their desire of liberty and flexibility in their job and their determination to develop their own ideas.