Nowadays many people read the news online instead of reading newspapers or watching TV. Discuss the positive and negative effects of this trend.

In modern era, human beings are becoming more tech-savvy. By which a plethora of people prefer to read news online rather than from newspapers or TV. This essay will explain the positive and negative effects of this trend.

Online media is more convenient for people to use than newspapers an TV. Individuals need to go to physical places to buy newspapers and sit in front of TV, meanwhile, internet is a flexible source as people can read or watch news anywhere they want on their handy electronic devices such as Mobile phone. Moreover, reading news online can provide people with variety of choices which are not possible on newspaper or TV. As a person can look for a news which he or she likes reading with the help of internet. For example a person having interest in sports can read a variety of news online instead of reading a small article related to sports on newspapers.

On the other hand, internet can give false information of something as anyone can upload news on websites or other online platforms, whereas, newspapers and TV news channels provide authentic news to everyone as they are certified by the government authorities. Furthermore, legal action by police can also be taken if they try to give wrong information. But this is not possible in the case of online platforms. For instance, the survey conducted by IT company shows that more than 90% of the news shared on YouTube and on other websites are false and governments can not do anything to prevent it. Consequently, news read by people from internet can be misleading.

To conclude, there are both positive and negative impacts of reading news online instead of newspapers or TV. As news on internet is easily accessible but on the same time it can mislead people by providing wrong information.