Nowadays, more and more children are appearing in reality shows. Some people feel it is a good trend. Others do not agree.

Discuss both the views and give your opinion.

Reality shows on TV are becoming increasingly popular these days. Some feel they give a ready platform for the participants to showcase their talents and become famous overnight. However, others claim there is also an ugly side to grapple with. In my view, while talent shows bring a number of benefits such as boosting confidence, there exist some drawbacks too.

Those who advocate the positive aspects of life shows opine that an exposure to the real world of stiff competition helps the participants to pit their strength against the best of the lot, and learn valuable lessons. It cannot be denied that every one faces stage fright initially while performing in front of a large audience. A platform like a reality show removes shyness and grooms youngsters to reach their potential. It not only helps in identification and projection of talents but also in innovation and experimentation under the guidance of experts. For instance, there have been many youngsters who have got opportunities in playback singing, dancing and acting in movies and stage shows. Some of the highly talented ones are still at the peak of fame, proving, exposure at a young age can shape career of a life time.

On the other hand, participating in live shows demand time and energy which may force children to deviate attention from studies,. This may affect their performance in examination, even spoiling their career prospects. This is especially of import as fame may last only a short time and once it is gone, the grand winners may face an insecure future. Another potential danger is that sudden fame may cause the winners to live in a bubble of ecstasy, and when the bubble explodes, they are brought back to harsh reality. At a young age, this can prove disastrous to their mindset.

In conclusion, although participating in reality shows can provide immense opportunities and success to participants, parents and teachers have to take special care of such cases in order to avoid the inevitable problems attached to it.