Nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in their life. What are the reasons? Is it a positive or negative trend?

Nowadays, young couples have the tendency to delay having babies. This can be mainly attributed to their passion for work and the lack of financial resources, and in my opinion, it does more harm than good.

There are several causes leading to the increase in the average age of first-time parents. The primary reason is that people attach greater importance to career development. In fact, after having babies, parents could be occupied with child raising, which affects their work efficiency and makes them fail to get promoted . For example, some working mothers who will be on maternity leave find it difficult to get used to the working environment after several months and might lose their chances of promotion. Another reason is the lack of financial capability. Once they have children, parents will face the exorbitant expense of child rearing such as the money paid for babies' food, clothes and education. Therefore, some young married people choose to delay giving birth to children until they are financially viable.

From my viewpoint, the decision to postpone childbearing should be regarded as a negative trend, due largely to its threats to moms’ and babies’ well-being. Science has proven that a woman’s fertility declines as their age increases. Having kids too late may harm the mother’s health and can also shorten the child’s lifespan. In addition, the generation gap is liable to happen between elderly parents and their young kids. Since parents and children were born in quite distinct periods, the differences in their outlook on life become more obvious. Once the family members fail to harmonize these different notions, it may lead to conflicts within the family.

In conclusion, that people choose to put parenthood off can be attributed to the work interruption and financial burden appearing when having children. Due to its drawbacks of health risks to the mothers and the children and the generation gap, I would argue that it is a harmful development.