Nowadays, people change their appearance by dying hair, buying fashionable clothes, wearing make-ups, and even undergoing plastic surgery. What are the reasons? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is undeniable that people these days are considering to make themselves look better, by camouflaging imperfections with the use of cosmetics and fashionable clothes. Though there is nothing wrong with wanting to become beautiful or perfect, thinking that it will boost self-esteem and confidence is irrational because true confidence comes from inner personality and not the outward appearance.

It is an undeniable fact that having a better physical appearance has a meaningful impact on the life experiences of a person. In today’s world where people are quick to judge a person based on their appearance without even knowing the person, having a good physical appearance has become a necessity. One more reason contributing to this is the lack of confidence among the people, which makes them think that they aren’t good enough. And the sad part is that people aim for perfection in appearance, just to meet the expectations of society. Other reasons that might be contributing to this may be the desire to lure someone or the desire to look younger to feel better.

Moving on, I hold the view that, altering the natural appearance may give ephemeral satisfaction and people should embrace the fact that nobody is perfect. And I strongly believe that beauty is in the eye of the beholder. And to reinforce the argument, I think that alterations done to the specific parts of the body to improve appearances are being done by people without considering the negative repercussions of them. I do believe that, if there is some defect in some specific body parts and the purpose of the cosmetic surgery is to remove that defect, then there is nothing wrong with that. But if the purpose is simply to make it more beautiful, then it is not rational.