Nowadays people depend on technology for leisure activities. Is this a positive or negative development?

In light of technological revolutions, more and more modern technical equipment is continuously being invented and developed. These cutting-edge facilities offer numerous benefits for human’s daily lives. While the increasing use of high-tech devices for recreational activities is considered a positive trend, I believe that it also comes with some drawbacks.

On the one hand, the significant advantages that technological devices bring to leisure activities are evident. Firstly, these gadgets offer a wide array of leisure options. After a busy day in school or the office, one can lie down and use devices such as smartphones, and televisions, to watch films, listen to music, read books, play mobile games or surf the Internet. Such choices provide individuals with a convenient and enjoyable means of unwinding after a taxing day at school or work. etc. Moreover, engagement in high-tech equipment can contribute to the development of soft skills and life experiments acquired from survival games. For instance, the press was taken aback by the story of the two little girls who survived after 30 days of getting lost in the Amazon rainforest only by applying the skills learned from video games to reality.

On the other hand, the increasing reliance on technology for leisure activities comes with several notable drawbacks. To begin with, the misuse of these devices can have detrimental effects on both mental and physical health. The absence of electronic devices may lead to psychological symptoms like anger and confusion in individuals, highlighting the potential addictive nature of technology. Moreover, long exposure to the green light of the screen damages the eyes while electromagnetic waves adversely affect brain function. Next, spending long hours focusing on technological devices can lead to the erosion of personal relationships. This is due to the fact that many individuals people prioritize screen time over interactions with family and friends.

In conclusion, while using electronic gadgets for entertaining can have several advantages, I believe the drawbacks of this tendency are much greater.